A Million Bucks By 30 / Book Review and Giveaway

by Ryan

Alan Corey could be the reincarnation of the phrase “funny money” but in human form. His book A Million Bucks by 30 takes us along his journey to becoming a millionaire starting as a newly minted college grad making $40k per year and moving to New York City. Throughout the book we’re greeted with the lessons he learned along the way, humorous situations he encountered, and how he dealt with the difficulties of being a “cheapskate” to make it possible.

Each chapter of Million Bucks By 30 starts out with a flashback from Alan’s perspective that usually made me chuckle. For example when he describes starting his new job these were his previous thoughts:

“…I’ve really got to learn the name of this company. First two calls are asking if we sell auto parts. I’m pretty certain we don’t. I mean, I hope we don’t, because I’m telling everyone we don’t. My boss is too busy to talk to, so I’m just winging it until I get in trouble.”

The thing that makes this book unique and why I’d recommend it, especially to younger readers, is that Alan writes it from his own, human, unbiased experience. He shares exactly what he did, demonstrates that he’s not a guru by any means, and makes the process of living below your means and building wealth seem fun and a bit of an adventure.

Some of the things that Alan did that I really enjoyed were:

  • He told everyone he was going to be a millionaire before 30. Although he got laughed at by friends and family, he had the determination and will power to go out and do it anyways.
  • He persisted towards his goal even though he didn’t have a clue how to achieve his goal. After each step he learned what he had to do next and was fine not knowing everything from the start. The lesson here is to take action and learn as you go, it’s the only way you’re truly going to learn.
  • His “Extreme Cheapskate Strategies” which sprinkled each chapter and provided quick tips on how he was able to save money, which included things like not drinking bottled water and how to check your credit report for free.
  • He talked about dating and being a cheapskate, which is fairly rare in personal finance books. Although it is a challenge to find someone with a similar or accepting perspective Alan talks about his experience in dating while working to be a young millionaire.

Million Bucks by 30 is a quick read that I’d recommend to anyone as it has a great way of humanizing becoming a millionaire while gaining a few laughs along the way. Alan wasn’t a guru who had any magic secrets along the way, however he worked hard, persisted, and committed himself to learning how to become a millionaire before the age of 30. Hopefully after reading this book you’ll realize that you can do the same.

To learn more about Alan Corey and his book check out his website at Alancorey.com.

I’m giving a copy of this book away so in order to qualify simply leave a comment below (make sure your email address is in there) and tweet this post. I’ll randomly select the winner by early next week.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

{ 20 comments… read them below or add one }

Daniel Johnston May 5, 2010 at 2:59 pm

Thanks for the book review. I just finished all the books I have and am now looking for new ones. Will definitely be looking to buy this book if I don’t win the give away.

Being a millionaire by thirty is certainly possible. I aim to be a millionaire before then. It’s very possible to live frugally, work hard, and invest it into the market at a gain. One of the keys, though, is the market returns. I have a really high paying job, as well as most people who I know, but if you’re making $10 or $20 an hour, the market returns will be crucial in getting to that million.

It takes a lot of hard work and dedication to get there in the way Alan did. It sounds like he worked a medium paying (maybe even low paying job), and was able to use tactics and save a lot of money in order to get there. Most people don’t have that determination or willingness to sacrifice, as well as they know they don’t have to be a millionaire by thirty if they don’t want to.

When it comes to your money, if you work hard enough, chances are good that you will do very well. I really love book reviews like this; I adore reading. Sounds like an amazing book, and, as I mentioned, one that I will be reading soon.

Kaitlyn Aliano May 5, 2010 at 3:34 pm

kaitlynaliano (at) gmail (dot) com
.-= Kaitlyn Aliano´s last undefined ..If you register your site for free at =-.

Kevin May 5, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Great review. Sounds like a good read.
.-= Kevin´s last blog ..Payday Loans Help People =-.

Roman Soluk May 5, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Seems to be really interesting book! Thanks for your review. I’m sure this book is useful for everyone.
.-= Roman Soluk´s last blog ..The main benefits of walking outdoors =-.

Search Engine Viking May 5, 2010 at 5:30 pm

If this is the book I’m thinking of, I remember thumbing through it about a year ago at Barnes and Noble, then walked out of the store saying to myself: “Why didn’t I buy that?” (and no, this doesn’t mean I stole it!).

From what I read, I completely endorse this book as well. It was witty and written from the perspective of a non-finance specialist, which I liked. I don’t know about the rest of ya’ll, but nothing turns me off quite like reading a billionaire real estate mogul explain try to put himself into my shoes.
.-= Search Engine Viking´s last blog ..Three Dollars Per Day Adsense Challenge: Day 5 =-.

Financial Samurai May 5, 2010 at 8:18 pm

How much was real estate part of his millionaire net worth?
.-= Financial Samurai´s last blog ..Pretend You Have Arrived So You Can Become =-.

Kiesha @ We Blog Better May 6, 2010 at 2:35 am

Hi Ryan,
I’d love it if you randomly select me! This sounds like an awesome read, I’m currently reading 4-hour work week, plannning to read Crush It next, this fits right on in with those. I’m determined, I tell ya! :)
.-= Kiesha @ We Blog Better´s last blog ..The SocialmediaToday Community: Increase exposure to your blog =-.

Little House May 6, 2010 at 3:35 am

I think the key here is that you need to make a substantial income in order to save that much money before 30. For instance, if he started earning $45,000 right after college at say 22, that would only equate to $315,000 gross after 7 years (and that’s before taxes and living expenses!). Even with interest rates, which are quite meager, he would still be short of that million. I think it’s a great goal (I’m way past that age now ;) ), but income will greatly increase or decrease the chances of saving that amount in such a short time period. I guess I’ll have to read the book to find out how he did it!
.-= Little House´s last blog ..Yakezie Carnival, Part 2 =-.

Noah Rainey May 6, 2010 at 6:21 am

Looks like a book to read. Thanks for telling em about it. Is it available on Amazon?
.-= Noah Rainey´s last blog ..Guest Posting – 3 Traffic Tips =-.

Kevin M May 6, 2010 at 6:24 am

I’m in, thanks for the review.

Jeremy Johnson May 6, 2010 at 7:10 am

Hmm, how about millionaire by 45 or 50? :) I like that he was winging it and making decisions at his job without asking his boss. Too many people sit like statues waiting for instructions. Just do it I say :)
.-= Jeremy Johnson´s last blog ..Unclogging Your Mind (Phase 1) =-.

Jackie May 6, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Don’t enter me in the giveaway (because I already have the book) but I just wanted to chime in that I also thought it was a funny and interesting read. My teenage son was inspired by it too.
.-= Jackie´s last blog ..Do It Now =-.

FinEngr May 6, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Unfortunately I’m going to be the debbie downer and not promote this book. I remember reading a review article in the newspaper about this book – it wasn’t overly complimentary.

I won’t discredit his achievement or humorous anecdotal references, but to refer to this as a manual on how to achieve $1M by 30 doesn’t fly. There’s simply nothing substantial or replicable.

Going beyond frugal, he’s downright cheap. I don’t care how much Ramen saves you, I’d be more worried about your blood pressure from all the sodium.

Like I said, I can’t discredit what he’s achieved, but he happened to end up in some very lucrative housing deals. That accounted for the majority of his wealth, and this isn’t like he’s a seasoned realtor/investor.

If you’ve already read this book, I’m happy you’re reading since knowledge is empowering.

Bring on the counter-criticism :)
.-= FinEngr´s last blog ..Travel Industry’s Biggest Secret: How to Slash Your Bill in HALF =-.

ML May 6, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Interesting book! I am wondering if he made the million bucks by age 30.

Ruby Leigh May 7, 2010 at 7:07 am

This book looks like something I would really enjoy!

Noah Rainey May 7, 2010 at 2:43 pm

Who won the book Ryan? I haven’t heard anything recently…
.-= Noah Rainey´s last blog ..Guest Posting – 3 Traffic Tips =-.

harvestwages May 8, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Hi Ryan,
I’m so curious to read every bit of that book. If you recommend it, i have no choice but go for it. Hope i be a millionaire by 25.
.-= harvestwages´s last blog ..3 Self Empowerment Tips For Success in Making Money Online =-.

Aury (Thunderdrake) May 9, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Haha. I may very well consider picking this one book up from the library, if I can get my mitts on it that way.

The front page is very compelling. Especially the “useless degree” part. So true. Education is no longer a prerequisite for success in this day and age!
.-= Aury (Thunderdrake)´s last blog ..Hoarding Dragon Basics – Investing in Precious Metals =-.

OdysseusToday May 12, 2010 at 1:42 am

Great review. While my goal is not to break the bank by 30, it is defiantly a goal that I want to achieve in my 40s or 50s at a minimum.

I will certainly be looking into something like this for my brother who has a much more aggressive goal!

James May 18, 2010 at 11:00 am

sounds like it could be a good book. i am definitely intrigued.

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: